Parisian Train Stations

SONY DSC

When I was in Paris (yeah, more Paris spam – I have so much more!) I used the Paris Metro to get around. The Paris Metro is a strange thing. Firstly, it’s HARD to go about on it with luggage. I have no idea what a person in a wheelchair would do. I’d heard multiple accounts of people jumping over the ticket barriers and riding for free – you only have the wicket at the start of your journey so it’s easy to skip paying if you can jump high enough.

But along the way, I found (with the help if my Paris guide book, which I will blog about later) some really interesting stations. I thought I would share them with you!

First off is Concorde (above) which has excerpts from France’s declaration of human rights on the walls. It has no punctuation at all, so it’s pretty tricky to read… But still pretty cool!

SONY DSC

This crudely taken photo is at Palais Royal, near the Comédie Française and was made in 2000. Isn’t it pretty?!
SAM_5401

At Montparnasse-Bienvenüe there is the fastest moving walkway in the world at 12 kilometres an hour.

Lastly, Metro station Madeline gets a special mention for being quite possible the STINKIEST station ever. Probably the stinkiest place I have ever had the misfortune to be in. Seriously.

See?! Why go to museums when Paris’ Metro stations are cool enough!!

8 thoughts on “Parisian Train Stations

  1. Haha, all of your Paris posts just make me want to jump on the Eurostar right now. Even if it’s to check out the world’s stinkiest metro station.

Leave a Reply

